Skip to Main Content

Past Grant Recipients


Foundation Fellow Research Award
Annetta Madsen, MD
Women and Infants Hospital/Brown Alpert Medical School
Improving patient-centered care for pelvic floor disorders through perioperative peer support

Pedro Maldonado, MD
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Effects of ospemifene and vaginal estrogen on the vaginal wall before and after injury

Mesh/Graft Science in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery
Joseph Kowalski, MD
University of Iowa
Molecular markers of angiogenesis in polypropylene mesh-related vaginal exposures

Craig Mayr, MD
UPMC Magee Womens Hospital
The tissue redox environment and oxidative macromolecular damage at sites of vaginal mesh placement in women with mesh-related complications 

PFD Research Foundation and ICA IC/PBS Research Grant
Ana Charrua Cordeiro, MD
IBMC - Instituto de Biologia Celular e Molecular
Sympathetic nervous system dysfunction is a trigger to BPS/IC symptoms development



PFD Surgical Research Grant
Lindsay C. Turner, MD 
Magee Womens Hospital of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
The Impact of IV Acetaminophen on Postoperative Pain in Women Undergoing Pelvic Organ Prolapse Repair

Foundation Faculty Research Award
Keith T. Downing, MD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Montefiore Medical Center
The Detection of Desmosines as a Surrogate Marker for Elastic Fiber Degradation in Pelvic Floor Connective Tissue

Mesh/Graft Science in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery Research Grant 
Kathleen Chin, MD
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Therapeutic Potential of Protease Inhibitors in the Vaginal Wall - Alternatives to Mesh

PFD Research Foundation and ICA IC/PBS Research Grant 
Judy M. Choi, MD
University of California, Los Angeles
Chronic Stress Affects the Micturition Pathway via the Peripheral Corticotropin-Releasing Factor (CRF) Pathway

Thomas J. Benson Award in Neuromodulation
Benjamin J. Barenberg, MD
University of Oklahoma
Evaluation and Validation of an Integrated Interstim Training Curriculum for Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellows

Robert S. Kelley, DO
Mount Sinai Hospital
Electrophysiologic Mapping of the Urinary Bladder

Margaret G. Mueller, MD
Northwestern University
Sacral Neuromodulation for Dual Incontinence (SaNDI): Ultrasound and Afferent Nerve Sensation Assessment



PFD Research Foundation and ICA IC/PBS Research Grant
Melinda Abernethy, MD, Northwestern University
The Biology of Irritative Bladder Symptoms: Urine Microbiota, Cytokine Profiles and Symptom Severity among Women with Interstitial Cystitis/Painful Bladder Syndrome

June Allyson Memorial Fund Research Award
Meadow Good, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Fibulin-5 Enhances Wound Healing in the Vaginal Vault

Foundation Faculty Research Award
Elizabeth Geller, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Effect of Anticholinergics on Cognitive Function in the Elderly (ACE) Trial

Foundation Faculty Research Award (Awarded to an AUGS Research Scholar)
Una Lee, MD, Virginia Mason Medical Center
Cytoprotection of urethral tissues from ischemia/reperfusion injury during simulated vaginal delivery

Foundation Fellow Research Award
Kimberly Ferrante, MD, UCSD Medical Center
Vaginal Estrogen for the Prevention of Recurrent Urinary Tract Infection in Postmenopausal Women

Foundation Surgical Research Award
Tatiana Sanses, MD, Case Western Reserve School of Medicine
Pelvic Organ Prolapse Surgical Treatment Quality Measures

Thomas Benson Award in Neuromodulation
Lauren Cadish, MD, University of California, Irvine
Stimulation Latency Period and Optimal Cycling for Sacral Neuromodulation Patients 

Alexis Dieter, MD, Duke University Medical Center
Investigating the Effects of Botulinum Toxin A on the Detrusor Smooth Muscle and Autonomic Nervous System in a Rat Model

Stephanie Pickett, MD, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
Developing an Integrated InterStim Training Curriculum for Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellows


PFD Research Foundation Research Grant Awards History

AUGS Research Scholars Grant
2011 - Gina Northington, MD

PFD Research Foundation Faculty Research Award (Formerly Astellas Research Grant)
2011 - Elizabeth Erekson, MD
2011 - Lieschen Quiroz, MD
2010 - Nazema Siddiqui, MD
2010 - Philip Smith, MD
2009 - Heidi Harvie, MD
2009 - Sujatha Pathi, MD
2009 - Sarah Hammil, MD
2008 - Chiara Ghetti, MD
2008 - Vivian Sung,  MD
2008 - David Rahn, MD
2007 - Amy Park, MD
2007 - Jerry Lowder, MD
2007 - Kathleen Connell, MD
2006 - Matthew Ho, MD, PhD
2006 - Andrew Sokol, MD
2006 - Marianna Alperin, MD, MS 

PFD Research Foundation Fellow Research Award
2011 - Autumn Edenfield, MD
2010 - Cara Grimes, MD
2009 - Anna Frick, MD
2008 - Danielle Markle, MD
2007 -  Emily Whitcomb, MD
2006 - Christian Twiss, MD

PFD Research Foundation Surgical Award
2011 - Joy Greer, MD
2010 - Mitchell Berger, MD 

PFD Research Foundation Bladder Health Research Grant
2011 - Kerrie Adams, MD

Thomas Benson Award in Neuromodulation 
2011 - Anthony Gaddi, MD
2011 - Edgar LeClaire, MD
2011 - Monica Richardson, MD
2011 - Cheryl Shih, MD
2011 - Anne Suskind, MD
2010 - Stephanie Jacobs, MD
2010 - Peter Jeppson, MD
2010 - Courtney Lee, MD
2010 - Pamela Levin, MD
2010 - Mona McCollough, MD
2010 - Salim Wehbe, MD
2010 - Dena White, MD
2009 - Jonathan Gleason, MD
2009 - Brent Parnell, MD
2009 - Leise Knoepp, MD
2009 - Jennifer Lee, MD
2009 - Heidi Chen, MD
2008 - Danielle Markle, MD
2008 - Jocelyn Craig, MD
2008 - John Judd, MD
2008 - Ene George, MD
2008 - Taji Yazdany, MD

June Allyson Memorial Research Grant
2011 - Teodoro Montoya, MD
2010 - Laura Skoczylas, MD
2008 - Andrea Staack, MD, PhD
2007 - Matthew Ho, MD, PhD
2007 - Tola Omotosho, MD
2006 - Lee Epstein, MD
2005 - Maria Canter, MD
2004 - Clifford Wai, MD
2003 - James L. Whiteside, MD
2002 - Michael Vardy, MD
2001 - Muriel Boreham, MD
2000 - Matthew Barber, MD
1999 - Lennox Hoyte, MD
1998 - Mary Pat Fitzgerald, MD
1997 - Padma Malipeddi, MD