Past Grant Recipients


    Foundation Fellow Research Award
    Annetta Madsen, MD
    Women and Infants Hospital/Brown Alpert Medical School
    Improving patient-centered care for pelvic floor disorders through perioperative peer support

    Pedro Maldonado, MD
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Effects of ospemifene and vaginal estrogen on the vaginal wall before and after injury

    Mesh/Graft Science in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery
    Joseph Kowalski, MD
    University of Iowa
    Molecular markers of angiogenesis in polypropylene mesh-related vaginal exposures

    Craig Mayr, MD
    UPMC Magee Womens Hospital
    The tissue redox environment and oxidative macromolecular damage at sites of vaginal mesh placement in women with mesh-related complications 

    PFD Research Foundation and ICA IC/PBS Research Grant
    Ana Charrua Cordeiro, MD
    IBMC - Instituto de Biologia Celular e Molecular
    Sympathetic nervous system dysfunction is a trigger to BPS/IC symptoms development


    PFD Surgical Research Grant
    Lindsay C. Turner, MD 
    Magee Womens Hospital of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
    The Impact of IV Acetaminophen on Postoperative Pain in Women Undergoing Pelvic Organ Prolapse Repair

    Foundation Faculty Research Award
    Keith T. Downing, MD
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine Montefiore Medical Center
    The Detection of Desmosines as a Surrogate Marker for Elastic Fiber Degradation in Pelvic Floor Connective Tissue

    Mesh/Graft Science in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery Research Grant 
    Kathleen Chin, MD
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Therapeutic Potential of Protease Inhibitors in the Vaginal Wall - Alternatives to Mesh

    PFD Research Foundation and ICA IC/PBS Research Grant 
    Judy M. Choi, MD
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Chronic Stress Affects the Micturition Pathway via the Peripheral Corticotropin-Releasing Factor (CRF) Pathway

    Thomas J. Benson Award in Neuromodulation

    Benjamin J. Barenberg, MD
    University of Oklahoma
    Evaluation and Validation of an Integrated Interstim Training Curriculum for Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellows

    Robert S. Kelley, DO
    Mount Sinai Hospital
    Electrophysiologic Mapping of the Urinary Bladder

    Margaret G. Mueller, MD
    Northwestern University
    Sacral Neuromodulation for Dual Incontinence (SaNDI): Ultrasound and Afferent Nerve Sensation Assessment



    PFD Research Foundation and ICA IC/PBS Research Grant
    Melinda Abernethy, MD, Northwestern University
    The Biology of Irritative Bladder Symptoms: Urine Microbiota, Cytokine Profiles and Symptom Severity among Women with Interstitial Cystitis/Painful Bladder Syndrome

    June Allyson Memorial Fund Research Award
    Meadow Good, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
    Fibulin-5 Enhances Wound Healing in the Vaginal Vault

    Foundation Faculty Research Award
    Elizabeth Geller, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    Effect of Anticholinergics on Cognitive Function in the Elderly (ACE) Trial

    Foundation Faculty Research Award (Awarded to an AUGS Research Scholar)
    Una Lee, MD, Virginia Mason Medical Center
    Cytoprotection of urethral tissues from ischemia/reperfusion injury during simulated vaginal delivery

    Foundation Fellow Research Award
    Kimberly Ferrante, MD, UCSD Medical Center
    Vaginal Estrogen for the Prevention of Recurrent Urinary Tract Infection in Postmenopausal Women

    Foundation Surgical Research Award
    Tatiana Sanses, MD, Case Western Reserve School of Medicine
    Pelvic Organ Prolapse Surgical Treatment Quality Measures

    Thomas Benson Award in Neuromodulation
    Lauren Cadish, MD, University of California, Irvine
    Stimulation Latency Period and Optimal Cycling for Sacral Neuromodulation Patients 

    Alexis Dieter, MD, Duke University Medical Center
    Investigating the Effects of Botulinum Toxin A on the Detrusor Smooth Muscle and Autonomic Nervous System in a Rat Model

    Stephanie Pickett, MD, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
    Developing an Integrated InterStim Training Curriculum for Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellows

    PFD Research Foundation Research Grant Awards History

    AUGS Research Scholars Grant
    2011 - Gina Northington, MD

    PFD Research Foundation Faculty Research Award (Formerly Astellas Research Grant)
    2011 - Elizabeth Erekson, MD
    2011 - Lieschen Quiroz, MD
    2010 - Nazema Siddiqui, MD
    2010 - Philip Smith, MD
    2009 - Heidi Harvie, MD
    2009 - Sujatha Pathi, MD
    2009 - Sarah Hammil, MD
    2008 - Chiara Ghetti, MD
    2008 - Vivian Sung,  MD
    2008 - David Rahn, MD
    2007 - Amy Park, MD
    2007 - Jerry Lowder, MD
    2007 - Kathleen Connell, MD
    2006 - Matthew Ho, MD, PhD
    2006 - Andrew Sokol, MD
    2006 - Marianna Alperin, MD, MS 

    PFD Research Foundation Fellow Research Award
    2011 - Autumn Edenfield, MD
    2010 - Cara Grimes, MD
    2009 - Anna Frick, MD
    2008 - Danielle Markle, MD
    2007 -  Emily Whitcomb, MD
    2006 - Christian Twiss, MD

    PFD Research Foundation Surgical Award
    2011 - Joy Greer, MD
    2010 - Mitchell Berger, MD 

    PFD Research Foundation Bladder Health Research Grant
    2011 - Kerrie Adams, MD

    Thomas Benson Award in Neuromodulation 
    2011 - Anthony Gaddi, MD
    2011 - Edgar LeClaire, MD
    2011 - Monica Richardson, MD
    2011 - Cheryl Shih, MD
    2011 - Anne Suskind, MD
    2010 - Stephanie Jacobs, MD
    2010 - Peter Jeppson, MD
    2010 - Courtney Lee, MD
    2010 - Pamela Levin, MD
    2010 - Mona McCollough, MD
    2010 - Salim Wehbe, MD
    2010 - Dena White, MD
    2009 - Jonathan Gleason, MD
    2009 - Brent Parnell, MD
    2009 - Leise Knoepp, MD
    2009 - Jennifer Lee, MD
    2009 - Heidi Chen, MD
    2008 - Danielle Markle, MD
    2008 - Jocelyn Craig, MD
    2008 - John Judd, MD
    2008 - Ene George, MD
    2008 - Taji Yazdany, MD

    June Allyson Memorial Research Grant
    2011 - Teodoro Montoya, MD
    2010 - Laura Skoczylas, MD
    2008 - Andrea Staack, MD, PhD
    2007 - Matthew Ho, MD, PhD
    2007 - Tola Omotosho, MD
    2006 - Lee Epstein, MD
    2005 - Maria Canter, MD
    2004 - Clifford Wai, MD
    2003 - James L. Whiteside, MD
    2002 - Michael Vardy, MD
    2001 - Muriel Boreham, MD
    2000 - Matthew Barber, MD
    1999 - Lennox Hoyte, MD
    1998 - Mary Pat Fitzgerald, MD
    1997 - Padma Malipeddi, MD

    PFD Research Foundation
    1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 670
    Silver Spring, MD 20910
    P: 301-273-0570 | F: 301-273-0778
    Support the PFD Research Foundation

    Contact Us | Privacy Policy | HONcode Accredited

    © 2017 American Urogynecologic Society. All rights reserved.